Organisational structure of the RTG

Organisational structure of the RTG

The Research Training Group has a transparent organisational structure that is enshrined in its by-laws (in German). The members of the RTG are have a say in almost all decisions taken through their elected representatives, and are thus firmly embedded into the rules of procedure.

The organisational structure can be depicted as follows:

Organisational diagramme of the research training group

Officers and decision-making bodies of the RTG

University teachers – 'the Professorium'

The Professorium is comprised of the professors from the Faculty of Law and the Faculty of Arts and Humanities. Both faculties should be represented by an equal number of professors, as their task is to determine the strategic positioning of the Research Training Group. The Professorium convenes at least once every semester. Members who withdraw from the Professorium may become Associated Professors.

Current members of the Professorium

The Speaker and Deputy Speaker

The Speaker is the managing head of the RTG, which he or she represents externally. The Speaker is responsible for the day-to-day operation of the RTG, and in particular for implementing the resolutions passed by the Grand Council. The Deputy Speaker fulfils all responsibilities in the event of the Speaker's absence. The Speaker and Deputy Speaker must not come from the same faculty.

The incumbent Speaker of the Research Training Group is Kai von Lewinski.

The Deputy Speaker is Hans Krah.

The Grand Council

The Grand Council sets out and designs the RTG's programme of courses and qualification measures, as well as initiating new research projects. It also takes staffing decisions and elects the Speaker and Deputy Speaker. The Grand Council consists of the Core Council and all members of the Professorium, thus encompassing all involved university teaching staff, the Representatives for the Graduate Fellows, the Postdoctoral Fellow and the Co-ordinator. Moreover, the Grand Council passes resolutions on the acceptance of new scholarship recipients and the postdoctoral fellow. Finally, the Grand Council is charged with designing the structure of the RTG's visiting scholars' programme.

The Core Council

Decisions on organisational processes and all matters on which the Grand Council need not be heard are taken by the Core Council. It is comprised of the Speaker, the Deputy Speaker, the Graduate Fellows' Representatives, the Postdoctoral Fellow and the Co-ordinator.

The Representatives of the Graduate Fellows

The graduate fellows of the RTG elect two representatives from their midst for a term of two semesters. Both have equal rank and defend the doctoral researchers' interests in the Grand Council and the Core Council. This ensures that all important decisions are taken in a transparent process. Moreover, the Representatives for the Graduate Fellows are engaged in information provision, communication and opinion-formation.

The incumbent Representatives for the Graduate Fellows are:

The Postdoctoral Fellow

The postdoctoral fellow acts as a point of contact for all members of the RTG, liaising with graduate fellows and the Professorium alike, and dispensing advice to graduate fellows on general questions related to doctoral study. The postdoctoral fellow also convenes work meetings to discuss theoretical and practical questions of methodology. He or she is also tasked with planning and heading the interdisciplinary advanced seminar, planning and implementing the academic perspectives and foci of the RTG, setting out the academic concept of conferences and lecture series, organising and implementing workshops and providing cross-links with other research institutions. Last but not least, the postdoctoral fellow should work on their own research project, with which he or she applied to the RTG.

The current Postdoctoral Fellow at the RTG is Martin Hennig

The Co-ordinator

The Co-ordinator liaises the officers and graduate fellows of the RTG, co-ordinates their input and provides conceptual, organisational and administrative support. Furthermore, the Co-ordinator's remit includes managing and steering the activities of the RTG in co-operating with its officers, organising and co-ordinating events such as workshops and conferences; preparing, accompanying and following up on official meetings and providing general advice to the graduate fellows of the RTG.

The current Co-ordinator of the RTG is Kilian Hauptmann

The Doctoral Supervisory Committees

The individual doctoral supervisory committees consist of three professors each, which may be members of the Professorium or associate members. Their task is to support and supervise the graduate fellows in their thesis projects. The candidates are selected in close co-ordination with the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the RTG to ensure a good fit in terms of research area.

Associated Professors

Associated professors are teaching staff who have withdrawn from the Professorium but continue to take an active role in the RTG, as well as those who fulfil an important consultative function concerning the research interests of the RTG, and who therefore participate actively in the regular activities of the RTG, specifically the interdisciplinary graduate colloquium.

The current associated professors are:

Co-opted members

Co-opted members are academics and scientists who have strong ties with the RTG and who contribute actively but not regularly or based on any binding agreement. They form the first tier of the academic network of the RTG.

List of co-opted members